Kindness Matters

 

IMG_6285

“You may be pretty and you may be talented…but no will remember that if you’re mean”

Isn’t it ironic that all the smart, sassy and kind girls are the ones that have fairy tales written about them? Think about it…Cinderella had two evil stepsisters that treated her poorly and the prince still chose her or take Belle who befriended a beast and saw him for the beauty that was on the inside rather than shunning him like all of society had before her…Point is, kindness is not weakness. Rudeness is a weak person’s imitation of strength and I would much rather be the girl that has the story written about her, than the girl that hurts others to make herself feel better. I’m not saying that all you will find is love; you’ll find success through kindness too.

Let me take you back to high school; I was the Cheer Captain, Homecoming Queen, Miss SHS, Class Favorite and wait for it…completely friendless. Don’t get me wrong; I had friends, but none that I still talk to this day. My freshman year, I was bullied to the point that I started to think I was the problem. I was teased, mocked, threatened through the internet, had a girl try to cut my hair, stab me with a needle in sewing class and much more. Then, a senior football player gave me the best piece of advice, “You aren’t the problem, society is.” Do you want to know the best part? Most of the girls that picked on me in high school are the same girls asking me to write them a letter of recommendation, help them land an internship or give them advice on how to be successful. How is that for irony? However, I don’t use that against them, instead I give them the best advice: “Be good to people, because you never know when you will need that person later on.”I have several girls ask me all the time, how I became successful at a young age and it is honestly because I take the time to make people feel important along with my work ethic. Kindness… it is the most valuable currency you have, your ability to spread kindness in an unkind world. Several of you are probably thinking, “I’ve been kind, but I don’t know why people are still hateful?” Honey, mean people suck. Plain and simple.

Basically, mean people are mean because they have been hurt or are insecure. Bam, mystery solved.

Well, I don’t know about you, but I’ve always been the girl that wants to be a hero, not a victim. People that are mean are essentially playing victim, some of them do it their whole life. DON’T PLAY VICTIM, you’re a Victor. When you are mean to someone because you have been hurt, you are mass-producing the very issue that destroyed you. Don’t pass on the trait! Instead, laugh. This doesn’t mean you’re a wimp or not standing up for yourself, this means you’re simply not giving the jerk any more of your time. You can’t argue with ignorance and you can’t educate it. In essence, it’s all about how you want to be perceived, what do you want your legacy to be? Don’t let your legacy be a bitter saga, instead be the girl that becomes a Queen and builds an empire with the same bricks that were thrown at her.

Many of you see me through my Instagram posts, tweets or what I post on some other form of social media and everything I post is authentic. I’m extremely happy, but how could I not be? It would be easy to be discouraged by the girls that give me dirty looks in public or who sit near me and whisper about me. Honestly, that is just their own insecurity and has nothing to do with me. One thing I have learned is that being pretty doesn’t necessarily make you pretty. Someone very close to me always tells me that my heart is what made him fall in love with me and I find that to be the biggest compliment one could receive.

So as you are out in public and someone that probably is not making the best choices or representing themselves in the best possible way gives you a dirty look, smile at him or her…they needs some sunshine in their angry life. You are beautiful, talented and blessed with something that God chose to give only you, that alone makes you worth being kind to.

XOXO

A. Bloomer

Published by alexiskimzey

Award-Winning Journalist, Author and Entrepreneur. Wife (No award for that)

6 thoughts on “Kindness Matters

  1. Thank you so much for this! Just what I needed today. Sometimes it gets really hard keeping up the smile and to be able to see the good things in others and in life and the beauty of Gods creation with all the negativity around. Thanks for the reminder and confirmation that being nice and caring is the right way to go.

  2. That was an amazing post. As I have tried to raise my daughter like how you were raised it’s an amazing thing that someone so young gets it. My daughter is 20 and by the grace of God gets it too. People can be so hurtful and for as much kindness and “family” there is in the sport of rodeo, there is also a whole lot of ugliness. We have seen first hand thru HS and College rodeo. Thank you.

  3. Beautifuly written Alexis Bloomer. I think this will help a lot of young people. Thanks for sharing . You are a beautiful person inside & out.

  4. Thanks for speaking on this Alexis! I cant tell you how many countless hours I have wasted wondering how people could be so mean? I too in highschool had plenty of friends but felt so very alone. Comparison culture amongst women today is out of control and I love that you are using your voice and influence to encourage others! If we all did the same, imagine how many insecure hearts we could encourage to find the best in herself and others!

  5. Thank you. As I said in my blog awhile back, “It costs nothing to be nice and no loose change is lost in the transaction.”

Leave a comment